mysecondcupofcoffee



Book vs Movie: The Age-Old Question

Don’t judge a book by its movie.
J.W. Eagan

Eagan is right, you know. You shouldn’t judge a book by its movie, but the same is true in reverse as well. Movies are constantly judged by their book. Before you get your literary panties in a twist, let me be the first to say that the lack of Peeves in the HP movies broke my gosh-dang heart and I berated the director’s lack of foresight. BUT, that oversight doesn’t mean I hate the movies and refuse to watch them. In fact, I love the movies.

Let me explain.

Movies can be brilliant. Books can be brilliant. If movie-watching-readers (like me!) can just learn to separate one from the other, the world would be a happier place. Am I right or am I right?

Accept the fact that screaming “that wasn’t in the books!” doesn’t diminish the pain you felt when Dobby died. I mean, the complete removal of a brilliant character like Glorfindel doesn’t negate the power of Aragorn screaming “but today is not that day!,” does it? Of course not!

See what I mean? Accept the movies and the books of fandoms as two sides of the same coin. Acceptance is the first step to recovery…

Leave a Reply

