mysecondcupofcoffee



You Drive Me Crazy

My unofficial thoughts on the quirks in marriage and Britney Spears.

Opposites attract. So do magnets. That’s why my husband, Josh, and I are a good match. Not because we are magnets, but because we are opposites. I could explain all sorts of ways in which we are opposite, but I’d rather explore a few of the little things in marriage that can drive you crazy. How does this relate to our oppositeness? Well, those little things that drive you crazy in a relationship are typically rooted in opposite ways of doing things and living life. Pretty simple, eh?

Example #1:
My husband isn’t bothered with a burning need to put things in their proper place. He walks in the door and leaves his shoes right next to the coat closet (where the shoes belong). He walks two steps past the door and deposits his coat on the back of a chair instead of hanging it in the coat closet that he just walked by. He takes two more steps and leaves his keys on the table instead of the hook by the door … you get the idea. This drives me crazy. I’m much more of a put-it-away-as-you-go kind of person.

Example #2:
On the flip side of crazy, I have never understood the point of carefully rolling toothpaste from the bottom of the tube to the top as you use it. I simply squeeze toothpaste onto my toothbrush and continue in this pattern until the tube is almost empty and then I start squeezing from the bottom of the tube to maximize my toothpaste investment. This drives Josh crazy. He is all about the careful process of rolling the toothpaste from the bottom of the tube for the duration of that particular tube.

Example #3:
I have heard of other marriage misdemeanors involving such weapons as a roll of toilet paper. The couple in question has an ongoing battle of wills. The husband is of the opinion that the toilet paper should roll from the top and the wife is insistent that the paper should be pulled from the bottom. Last I heard this war was still raging. Happily, Josh and I are both of the opinion that toilet paper should be rolled from the top.

So what is the moral to this tale? There isn’t one. These are merely amusing anecdotes about the little glitches that can either stress or strengthen a relationship.

Oh, and there were no thoughts on Britney Spears. I just wanted to use the amusing title.

Leave a Reply

