mysecondcupofcoffee



List Lovers Unite!

I have a slight obsession with book lists (i.e. reading lists). I’m not sure if it’s a pathological need to ensure that I am, in fact, well read, or if it’s the simple love of lists (and the subsequent ability to check things off of them). Either way, there is still a deep-seeded love for book lists deep within my soul.

I stumbled across a blog entitled “10 Books You Must Read to Your Daughter (Or How to Keep Your Daughter From Ending Up Like That Horrid Girl in Twilight)” and couldn’t help but read it. I was compelled to peruse this blogger’s thoughts. I mean, come on, aren’t you?

I probably should preface this list by saying that I struggle to criticize a book that I haven’t read, so, though I don’t think Twilight will be the next Pride & Prejudice (damn, that would be depressing…), I did at least read the entire series so that I knew what all the hype was about. Actually, a friend and I have attended the opening night (or, at least, the opening weekend) of each of the Twilight movies. That was an adventure. But I digress. Back to the list!

The books on this blogger’s list were as follows (my thoughts are in green)…

The Anne of Green Gables series by L. M. Montgomery (maybe just Green Gables and Avonlea)
The Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder (a classic, though written at a young reader level, that every girl should read)
Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling (good ol’ JK)
Till We Have Face by C.S. Lewis (a lesser-known work of Lewis’, but a brilliant must-read!)
The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkien (don’t be fooled by how some characters are portrayed in the movies!)
All six Jane Austen classics
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (I’d mark this one off the list, but that’s just me)
A Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton Porter
Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset (this one has been added to my list: Need To Read)

I was impressed with the list that the blogger had assembled. I not only agree with the list, but whole-heartedly support her suggestions. I don’t have a daughter, but if I did (or do someday), I would want her to mirror the characters in these novels and not the tripe a protagonist (yes, Bella) from Twilight. I have read all but one of the books on her list and, as I noted, that book has been added to my Need To Read list. This list left me in high-spirits. 

A few minutes after climbing onto my high horse, however, I stumbled upon another list (“10 Books Every Girl Should Read in Her Twenties”) that left me in far lower spirits for two reasons: 1) I haven’t read the majority of the books suggested, and 2) the list suggests these books for women to read while in their 20s. Why does point #2 leave my spirits a bit tarnished? Because I only have three years left in my 20s. That thought hit my like a stampeding rhino as I read her blog and I sobbed in the corner for a bit thanks to that startling realization.

Her list went as follows (my thoughts are, again, in green)…

Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, #1) by Sophie Kinsella
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (Oh, I’ve read this one!)
Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close
The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank
Bitches on a Budget: Sage Advice for Surviving Tough Times in Style by Rosalyn Hoffman
What I Know Now: Letters to My Younger Self by Ellyn Spragins
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
What Did I Do Wrong? by Liz Pryor
20-Something, 20-Everything: A Quarter-life Woman’s Guide to Balance and Direction by Christine Hassler
Single: The Art of Being Satisfied, Fulfilled and Independent by Judy Ford

Yup, that’s right, ladies & gentleman. I have only read one of the books on this wise woman’s list and I’m feeling less-than-well-read and a bit ill because of that (if I were a color, I’d be brownish-green… the color of algae on a lake in midsummer).

But, enough sulking! I must press on toward my newly-minted goal: to read all the books mentioned in this post that I haven’t, thus far in life, cracked the cover of. Well, “cracked the cover” is flowery of language as I will, I’m sure, read them on my Nook and therefore, no covers will be cracked. It will be more of an “electronic pages will be swiped from right to left with the tap of a finger,” but you get the point.

The the immortal words of the 10th Doctor, “Allons-y!”

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Joanna says:

    Two favorite lines from this blog post: “that thought hit me like a stampeding rhino” and the Dr. Who reference. 🙂

    I actually haven’t read the entire “daughter” list, so I’m really behind!

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago


Leave a Reply

