mysecondcupofcoffee



Orange, Blue, & Pink

Orange (Leukemia), Blue (Prostate), & Pink (Breast)

My husband never had the pleasure of meeting my grandfathers (specifically my mother’s father) and I never had the honor of meeting one of his.

Why? Because cancer is an evil and cruel thing.

Leukemia shortened my grandpa’s life and prostate cancer took the life of my husband’s grandpa… both were taken from this world far too early.

My grandfather never had the chance to meet any of his great-grandchildren. He wasn’t able to watch all of his grandchildren graduate from high school or college or get married. He didn’t get to meet all his in-laws and they didn’t get the chance to meet him, because of complications due to cancer.

I never had the change to meet my grandpa-in-law. I have seen photos of him and I have been told of his character and it hurts my heart to know that I missed my chance to meet him on this earth because of cancer.

My mother was also a near-victim of cancer. She was diagnosed with breast cancer, but she fought hard and won her battle. Many aren’t so blessed.

That is why I volunteer for organizations like Cancer Services of Northeast Indiana. That is why I champion causes that bring awareness of this disease. That is why I help raise money for cancer research. Because grandpa’s shouldn’t die so early. Mother’s shouldn’t be at risk of leaving their children behind. Because too many people suffer each year. Too many people die each day.

Cancer is a predator, but we can help the victims and we can attack back!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Brenda Fager says:

    Very powerful! And I didn’t know about the different colored ribbons….

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

