mysecondcupofcoffee



Cookies for Breakfast?

Cookies for breakfast. Sounds appealing, right? Especially if they are cookies specifically designed for morning consumption. I mean, if you can find a recipe that says, “Please, feel free to eat as many of these cookies for breakfast as you wish as they are good for you and will give you energy,” I’m all in!

Or, so I thought.

To start at the beginning of this sad tale, I should point out that, while perusing Pinterest, I found this recipe: Breakfast Cookies. As this screamed to me the aforementioned quote, I was thrilled. I do believe I jumped from my seat and did a jig.

The recipe was simple:

2 cups oatmeal
1 ½ cup unsweetened applesauce
2 really ripe bananas
Raisins to taste
Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes

So, mustering my considerable kitchen savvy, I whipped up these bad boys and waited with sweet anticipation for the 30-minute timer to ding. My plan was to break the rules and try one of these breakfast goodies at 9 p.m. I know, I’m a rebel!

Timer dinged and a few minutes passed for them to cool (I thought that the prospect of these little guys hot wasn’t as appealing as chilled). I grabbed a glass of milk and two cookies and went to curl up on the couch and enjoy the sweet success of my new find!

Sip of milk to cleanse the palette. Bite of cookie! It tasted of sweet, succulent … disappointment. Who knew disappointment was chewy? I certainly did not!

These potentially delectable morsels had the consistency of baby food and no flavor to overcome this shortcoming.

Now, those cooking fiends amongst you may be looking at these ingredients and thinking, “Well obviously it wasn’t going to be a very flavorful cookie,” please know that I thought the same, but was desperate to give these little guys the benefit of the doubt.

My faith was misplaced, I admit. If you feel the call of the wild kitchen to undertake this little guys, my the kitchen gods grant you a better outcome than they did me.

Leave a Reply

