mysecondcupofcoffee



“Snow White” and the “Mirror, Mirror”

Two movies have come out recently that have a similar theme: Snow White. I don’t consider her to be all the great of a princess, so the resent rush to recreate her tale baffles me a bit, however, Hollywood has it’s own agenda I guess. After seeing both films, I have opinions (big shock!?).

My opinion (in short)… One is good, the other is bad

The best part about my opinion is that, based on their previews, my presumptions about these two films were backwards. Let me put it this way: After seeing the “Mirror, Mirror” (MM) trailer and the “Snow White and the Huntsman” (SWH) trailer, I thought that MM would be mediocre and SWH would be good! I don’t know the the word “wrong” can sum up just how far off base my assumption was…

My opinion (in long)…

Mirror, Mirror (2012)
Grade: A-

MM (which I saw first) was entertaining, cute, and (and this is key) it made sense. The storyline was fluid and the characters were developed. Don’t misunderstand, this isn’t the movie of the ages (I mean, it’s no “Avengers”), but it was cute nevertheless. The dwarves were funny (and I loved how their storyline and attack skills), the prince was delightful and the queen’s loyal buffoon, Brighton (Nathan Lane) was a stitch! Julia Roberts was, as always, brilliant, though the movie didn’t rest on her worthy shoulders (which is more than I can say for Charlize Theron, who must be exhausted from carrying the weight of SWH around). The actor who played Snow White (Lily Collins) wasn’t mind-blowing, but she was good enough for this film. She was pretty, shy, and you could appreciate the growth of her character. Oh, and director Tarsem Singh did a great job creating the “mirror.” It was something new and unexpected; I appreciated it. There was an odd sort of music video at the end of the film that was a bit weird, but it didn’t affect the film, so I didn’t mind it much.

Snow White and the Huntsman (2012)
Grade: C-

Then there is SWH (which I saw at the drive-in and the second movie of the double feature was “Battleship” which wasn’t good, but was better that evening than SWH). The awesomeness that could have been this film was ripped away unceremoniously by the combined effort of Kristen Stewart and bad plot/character development. Chris Hemsworth (i.e. Thor, for those of you that don’t know his real name but know his pretty, pretty face) and Charlize Theron were the only redeeming factors in this film (actually, calling it a film seems too lofty, so I shall refer to it as a movie from here on). I could follow the plot because I am a smart person, but there were so many unanswered questions, that I just gave up caring about the characters. The only character that has any sort of development through the film is the queen (Charlize Theron). Snow White (played by Kristen “The Movie Killer” Stewart) just sort of exists, as does the queen’s brother (who might have the least development, which is an egregious oversight as he could have been an interesting character). Chris Hemsworth (Huntsman, yeah, that’s his name in the movie, just Huntsman. Creative, right?) pulled off the part because he is pretty good at acting, but even his performance was lackluster because there was nothing for his character to sink his teeth into. I could go on an on about the epic flop that is SWH, but why beat a dead horse? I mean, by the end of the movie, I was cheering for the queen cause at least she was badass!

The short and sweet summing up…
DON’T see SWH and RedBox MM.

Leave a Reply

