mysecondcupofcoffee



A Hand With Hands

I think the time is ripe for a cheese caldron (lovely little HP quote) and for a delightful little blog about dry hands, particularly in winter.

Welcome to part #2 of my pet peeves (part #1, though not labeled as such was my thoughts on Censorship). Though this wasn’t originally intended to be a series, that’s kind of what it is turning into. So, here we go.

Dry hands hurt and are ugly and I think that there should be no more of this!

Vulcan knowledge tells us WHY hands dry out…

During the winter months, the humidity in the outside air plunges. Inside, things are even more arid, with indoor heating creating desert-like conditions in our home and office.

Thank you WebMD.

But knowing why doesn’t take away the annoyance. I could apply lotion every hour (which I do) and I still have dry hands and painful cracks around my nails. So, i decided to look up some home remedies. Oh the things i found… *sigh*…so much fun and so strange. I may try some of these, though most of them sounds messy!

  • take fish oil tablets as part of your vitamin regimen
  • bath your hands in olive oil
  • smear your hands with petroleum jelly before bed (though that seems messy to me)
  • buy and aloe vera plant and use its gel constantly (where would i grow an aloe plant, i ask you…)
  • create an egg yolk mask for your hands (how does this help??)
  • do a honey bath treatment on your hands (sooooo sticky! but at least it smells good)
  • only wash your palms instead of washing your whole hands (this would bother my slightly OCD nature)
  • using lukewarm water instead of hot water to wash your hands (this one i can do easily!)

Other thoughts from the blogging world? If i do try any of these, i will let you know!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lara Hillenberg says:

    If you do the vaseline at night, just get a pair of gloves. It’s supposed to help it be not so messy. Plus, it’s much easier to wash a pair of gloves vs. say, a pair of sheets. OR, you could always do what I did during the winters… Just say, “Oh well” and look forward to March…

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Joanna says:

    I strongly sympathize. I am a chronic handwasher – I don’t like “feeling” like my hands are dirty. Combine that with winter and my hands get very dry. Of the above methods (aside from washing in warmer instead of hot water), the only thing that I do is I do take fish oil. I take it for brain/heart health – didn’t know it might help with hands. But I did find a great lotion that really soothes my hands, it’s Vaseline Cocoa Butter. I have a different looking bottle but it’s the same lotion I have, and it has really helped me!

    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Vaseline-Cocoa-Butter-Deep-Conditioning-Body-Lotion-24.5-fl-oz/10804589?findingMethod=rr

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

