mysecondcupofcoffee



Cooking with Katie

It’s been well over a month, since I have been able to be in the kitchen and cook a meal… a full meal, complete with dessert! I have been jonesing to say the least. I got my fix last night (written on Tuesday, Oct. 18)

I haven’t been grocery shopping in forever and a day, but I new what I had in the pantry so I searched my Pinterest stores to see if I could find a recipe to fit the bill. After much debate, I finally landed on
Homemade  (Just Like Chick-fil A) Chicken Nuggets
Honey Rolls
Homemade Honey Mustard 
and… Peach Cobbler

Now that you know the menu, let me tell you there story.

Katie was with us yesterday so she helped me cook. This in an of itself is pretty awesome because we always have a good time when we are together. Add to our hilarity a small kitchen, four new recipes, uncooked meat, raw egg, and hot grease and you have a recipe for comedy!

*you should know that no one was hurt in the making of the new sitcom.

We began with me prepping the nuggets and Katie making the honey mustard. She doesn’t like uncooked meat at all; it grosses her out, hence why she opted for the slightly more challenging of the two projects. However, in the midst of making the mustard, she realizes that it calls for some Dijon mustard, which isn’t in the Fager kitchen. So, after a few moments debate, she decides to wing it and add more honey and more “other” mustard to make up for it… turned out AWESOME! (Also, we found out later that grilled cheese dipped in this honey mustard is da’ bomb!)

Once the honey mustard was complete, she tackled the peach cobbler. This was a bit odd as well considering the recipe calls for fresh peaches and we only had canned, but Katie tackled it anyway with great gusto! (She did everything right, but the cobbler turned out a bit odd. I’ll have to work with that recipe to make it better…)

During this time, I worked on the Honey Rolls. Super easy, super good! However, next time I make them I’m going to let them rise the entire time the receipt calls for. The only reason I didn’t was because my growling stomach wouldn’t allow me to.

The came the best part of the evening… Frying the chicken nuggets. The recipes tells you to soak the nuggets in an egg/milk solution, then roll them in the breading then fry them. Katie opted for the frying part as touching both raw egg and raw meat horrified her. We had a great system going and it smelled awesome in the kitchen! However, since my kitchen doesn’t as of yet play host to a deep fryer, we were frying the chicken in a frying pan full of hot grease. Anyone who has fried anything like that before knows that splattering grease is a real and present danger. About half way through the frying process, Katie’s wrists were splattered with grease and she was ready to be done with that so …. drum roll …. she opted to switch me spots and handle the raw stuff! I was amazed! Though there were some shivers and a few “blahs!,” she didn’t once complain and completed the task! I say again, I was AMAZED!

We then settled down to a delightful dinner and “Lie to Me,” a new TV show that Katie introduced us to.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Brenda Fager says:

    I had no idea you could search pinterest for recipes based on your ingredients! Genius! Can’t believe that Katie took over the ‘raw’ part of the nuggets – even if her wrists were grease splattered! Shocking and amazing! Also, LOVE, LOVE ‘Lie to Me’ – can’t believe you didn’t know about it! Isn’t Tim Roth amazing?? And can’t you just see the general chimp from the remake of ‘Planet of the Apes’??

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Brenda Fager says:

    Oh, and I LOVE YOU!!! :p

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

