mysecondcupofcoffee



No-Rise Pizza Dough

I have a deep love for cooking, … though (on a slight rabbit trail) I don’t care for fancy cooking at all. I respect the art and enjoy eating it, but I just have no great love for the making of it. I follow a lot of foodie blogs that make awesome fancy food, but I have no tug on my heartstrings to make such dishes. I like cooking (or baking) pretty food, fun food, and comfort food. It brings a lot of joy to my heart. All that being said, those who can make fancy food and do it well, I tip my hat to you!

Wow. Let me find my way back to my main trail (Bye Bye Rabbit Trail!). Ah, here it is! But let me start again…

I have a deep love for cooking, but I lack much-needed patience. So when I was craving homemade pizza one day, I grew annoyed quickly because every recipe I could find required a certain amount of rise time for the dough. I don’t like to wait. That started my search for a good no-rise dough recipe. I found one that I liked after a bit of trial and error.

Here is the much-anticipated (by only one person) NO-RISE PIZZA DOUGH RECIPE (original recipe)! Enjoy, Sis!

REAL INGREDIENTS:

  1. 1 packet (or 1 Tablespoon) of yeast
  2. 1 1/2 cups warm water
  3. 1-2 Tablespoons refined sugar
  4. 3 Tablespoons (canola, olive) oil
  5. 3-4 cups all-purpose flour

ACTUAL PREPARATION:

Proof the yeast, add the sugar and oil. Mix in flour until the dough is no longer sticky. Knead until smooth. Press out into shape on a pizza stone. Add toppings, place in a cool oven. Cook at 375* for 20-25 minutes.

MY NOTES:

1) if you aren’t using a pizza stone, spray pan with cooking spray

2) this dough has a slight tendency to stay oily; I only add 2 TBLS

3) adding spices directly to the dough is really yummy; play with what you like “until it looks right”

4) you cook time will vary; I usually cook it for 30-35 minutes

Leave a Reply

