mysecondcupofcoffee



Becoming a Fager

Josh had warned me that when I officially became a Fager, my life would change. He was right on the money.

Apparently, Fager’s are notorious for their bad luck; this negative karma runs the gamut of life, but is most prevalent in little things. Some might argue that the major accidents suffered by this family are part of this, but that’s a blog for another time. This blog shall focus solely on the subtle nuances of becoming a Fager and how I quickly discovered that my luck had changed.

My social security card has been Lynette Fager for a few weeks now, but I hadn’t had a chance to make it to the BMV to get my license changed. So, last Saturday morning I set off for the BMV early so that I would be first in line. Well, I wasn’t quite first, but I was darn close and I got to work with one of the nice people (which is definitely a bonus at the BMV!). I was pleased. Things were going smoothly and there appeared to be no foreseeable issues with me changing my name! Then, quite literally as she is typing my new name into her system…. all hell breaks loose, relatively speaking.

First there was an issue with my credit from the BMV. Because I had just updated the plates on my car, I had to amend that and therefore I received a refund. Well apparently there was some major issue with that and the computer program wasn’t giving me the dinero I deserved. Then the head-honcho comes over and starts to look at the program and can’t figure out the issue so she makes the person I was working with delete everything we had done thus far (over an hour worth of work because of the program issues that the lady had tried to figure out for herself first) and start over. So we had to redo all that work step-by-step with the head-honcho person looking over the lady’s shoulder, which slowed things down considerably. Then there was an issue with the photo machine not wanting to focus. Then there I we had to get stuff copied, which took forever because by this time the BMV was busy (the best laid plans of mice and men…). The best part is, during this entire process the lady I’m working with keeps saying, “I have been doing this for years and have NEVER had a problem like this before!” or “this is the first time this has ever happened to me!” 

Clearly I have officially become a Fager. Apparently the U.S. government’s seal of approval isn’t what make it official, nor is the seal on my marriage license… it’s the BMV that makes it official. Who knew?

All that to say, I have embraced Fager-dom. (*as the Jaws theme song plays softly in the background…and a Sean Connory voice-over, only female*) I will stand my ground against Lady Luck and  laugh in her face! I shall be strong and courageous and learn to embrace this change in luck with a devil-may-care attitude. I will create my own luck and change the fate of future Fager’s that they may know that bad luck does not reign!

Eh, or I will just find it funny and blog about it. Sounds good to me!

Leave a Reply

