mysecondcupofcoffee



I Love Books

I have an obsession with good literature. In high school, while my fellow students were moaning and groaning at the reading, (Rory Gilmore said it best so I’m going to quote her from the “Those Are Strings, Pinocchio” episode, but I will add to it)

“…I hunted the white whale aboard the Pequod, fought alongside Napoleon, created Frankenstein with the help of a mad scientist, followed the white rabbit with Alice, collected souls with Chichikov, sailed a raft with Huck and Jim, ventured threw New York City with Holden Caulfield, died with my Romeo, committed absurdities with Ignatius J. Reilly, pigmented my skin John Howard Griffin, pondered life with Siddhartha, rode a sad train with Anna Karenina, fought Socs with Ponyboy, wore a red “A” with Hester Prynne, hid my mad wife in Mr. Rochester’s attic, spoke newspeak after the global atomic war of 1984, and strolled down Swann’s Way.”

There is something about a good book that just sooths the soul! This small list merely scratches my book-lovin’ surface! Whether I liked the book or not, I always appreciated the rode it took me on…

I think this love of reading and book is dying, or maybe it has always been selective. What I mean is, maybe literature-lovers have always been few and far between, and their waning has just been thrown into sharp contrast with the advent of technology that places this dislike under a microscope. Whichever it is, it’s sad. I wish I could impart on all those around me that joy I feel in opening up a book, in loosing myself in the pages and the characters!

Alas, if I stand alone, then I stand alone. I will continue to enjoy my walk down Swann’s Way and through the gates of my Secret Garden. I will embrace the characters that are so painfully real to me that it’s hard to close the book for fear that they will be gone before I’m able to return…

Oh, this article goes so well with this post! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

