mysecondcupofcoffee



Cheese and Chicken Enchiladas … sorta!

My lovely sister gave me a handmade/created cookbook as a bridal shower gift. It’s truly da’ bomb! I use it all the time! But, I’m my mother’s daughter through and through which means that following a recipe is beyond me. I try! I swear I do, but a small little voice in my head always says, “oh but this ingredient would be SO good in there, just try it this once!” So I try it and, alas, the original recipe never gets used again.

(The real recipe will be in yellow, my notes will be in orange!)

Cheese and Chicken Enchiladas (annotated)

1/4 cup Picante Sauce ….. I didn’t use this the first time I made these since, well, I didn’t have it in the house, so I replaced it with Rotel Tomatos)
3 ounces Cream Cheese, cubed….. Though I don’t cube it, I’m sure that would make it go faster!)
2 tablespoons margarine, melted…. this is pretty important
Mix in a medium saucepan over medium heat.

Add 1 1/2 cups shredded chicken…. on a side note, i wasn’t sure what the easiest way to shred chicken was, so I though, “hey, why not put it in my little food chopper and see what happens.” It worked and worked fast!
It is at this point that I added…. chili powder, onion powder, a dash of nature’s seasoning and some red peppers. What?? Don’t hate! I married a Texican (def: a Texan that is Mexican in his heart) that loves spicy food! 

After that all that is melted together into goodness, pour 1/3 cup into tortillas, roll up tortilla and place in a 9×13 pan and bake fore 15. Sprinkle cheese on top of tortillas in the last few minutes of baking.

Let me just say that the original recipe given to me by my sister is super yummy and I would wholeheartedly recommend it. However, I blame it on my wonderful mother that I can’t follow a recipe to save my life. I just have to tweak it no matter how good it is! There is something in my DNA that stops me and makes me change things! Most of the time this quirk turns into some really great food!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sis says:

    Interesting … I might have to try the red peppers in it.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Sis says:

    I’m really glad that you like the cookbook!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Karen says:

    I think recipes are more like suggestions. If you have all the ingredients and want to follow…then fine. If we didn’t experiment, food would all be the same and boring.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

