mysecondcupofcoffee



Families are like fudge

For the record, i have never been good at posting things. “Why have a blog?” you may ask… I don’t really have a good answer for that. The best i can conjure is that i have a desire to write and want (or need, depending on how you look at it) to overcome my issues with letting people read my work. Removing all pretense, i want my voice to be heard.

Also on that note, you would probably be surprised at how many posts i have written and not published. It’s sad, really. If i get gutsy enough old posts may start popping up.

Families are like fudge, mostly sweet with a few nuts.  ~Author Unknown

Before i got married, even before i met Josh, i had assumed based on the potential in-laws i had met prior to meeting Josh that i would have rocky-at-best relationships with my in-laws. Past boyfriends may read this (though i doubt it) and be offended, but it’s the truth. My ex’s parents didn’t care for me too much, save one. i wish i knew why that was. maybe i will know when i’m a mom someday (no, don’t get any crazy ideas, i’m NOT on my way to mom-hood). but honestly, i didn’t get it as a teenage. i just assumed that i was destined to have a rocky relationship with my in laws.

come to think of it, i think my mother-in-law would even admit that she didn’t care for me to much when Josh and i started dating (love you Mom!).

but i can honestly say that i love my in-laws! i have a wonderful mother- and father-in-law! they are wonderfully kind and generous people who have welcomed me with open and loving arms. and my bro- and sis-in-law are two of my favorite people on the planet!

this past weekend was spent with all of these wonderful people (and Josh of course!) because of Josh’s graduation.

some people might think that cramming six people into a single bedroom apartment for a weekend is a new form of torture (and five or six years ago, i probably would have agreed!), but it was a weekend i was looking forward to for a month! it was crammed and everyone was on top of each other, but it was fun! every meal was full of chaos and laughter, and evenings were alight with laughter and games!

don’t get me wrong, i’m exhausted! but it’s a good kind of exhausted, the kind that comes from energy spent creating awesome memories!

thank you family for the awesome weekend!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Brenda Fager says:

    Aawwww! I’m catching up on my late-night reading! You’re too kind. I definitely love you………….Now:P The rocky start was my fault – as you know – and everyone else who was within ‘bitch-shot’! John, Katie and Peter pointed out that, in fact, no one except me has ever called me a bitch. Who knew?? I also share your desire to express myself, and while saddened at no longer needing a beloved ‘hard’ journal, blogging is a form of journaling. All is not lost. Maybe I’ll just be the crazy lady who collects journals…….hmmmmmm……

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

