mysecondcupofcoffee



Who you are…

“You are not defined by your job.”

~ by a very wise woman

I pour myself into pretty much everything I do—it becomes part of me. I did this in high school, college and now, in my career. I’m learning, albeit slowly, that this attitude can be deadly, especially when it comes to my career.

The last few weeks were extremely rough. Not only did I work a lot of late nights, but it was an extremely critical week in the sense that, through no fault of my own, things were just going wrong and all roads of criticism led to me. Every evening I would drag my weary self home only to be frustrated by the idea of getting up the next day to go back for more…

On a particularly low day, one of my lovely co-workers came into my office and said something that rocked my world. She said, “Lynette, you are not defined by your job.” It was that simple. It was something I had never thought of before. I was so down about everything, because I was taking everything personally, as a personal attack on ME! I realized, in a wave of relief, that this job isn’t all there is to Lynette Fager. I’m a complete person without it; it is only a part of who I am.

I wonder where this attitude came from? Is it ingrained in my personality? Or was it brought on because I grew up so fast. *Sigh* a post for another time, I guess.

Leave a Reply

